What is a Chakra? A Chakra is a spot of spiritual energy in the body. There are seven spots in total that are commonly focused on. These spots are believed at times to become blocked and unbalanced. Which is why the practice of yoga and meditation becomes so important within our lives. It is essential to know these spiritual hotspots in order to promote peace and balance within your own energetic makeup.

I personally find the knowledge of our energetic chakras particularly useful for spots to focus one while meditating.

Here is a brief overview of the seven chakras;

Crown- Located at the top of the head. Sits like an energetic crown either right above or at the very top of your head. Associated with the pituitary gland. This chakra associates with higher states of consciousness and awareness. Freedom from limiting and close-minded beliefs. An imbalanced Crown chakra can lead to; close mindedness, cynicism, living too much in your head, disconnection to spirit or spiritual beliefs.

Third eye- Located on your forehead, right between your eyebrows.This Chakra is of intuition and foresight. Opening and tapping into your third eye gives one the advantage of seeing things as they essentially are. This chakra stand for truth in all matters. An imbalance third eye chakra would result in insomnia, high blood pressure, anxiety, depression,and migraines. The best way I have heard of this chakra being unbalanced is akin to the feeling of having one too many cups of coffee. Typically the problem with this chakra arise from universal information overload.

Throat- Located at the center of the neck at the level of the throat. A blocked throat chakra can significantly impact your ability to communicate effectively for fear of ridicule or judgment.

Heart- This Chakra located right in the middle of the rib cage (closest to the heart) is not surprisingly associated with love. Not just love for   you be others but most importantly love for yourself. Knowing your own worth as a strong and powerful individual. This chakra rules relationship matters, the ability to forgive, accept and to transform. An unbalanced heart chakra finds it hard to forgive, insistently holds grudges, envious, fearful, insecure.

Navel- Located in the belly area, this chakra is about taking responsibility, power, and self-will. Independence and clarity of good judgment is common with this chakra. However when this chakra is unbalanced  you become overly obsessed with the details and overly controlling

Sacral-This chakra is about sexual energy, emotional well-being and creativity. An unbalanced Sacral chakra can lead to over indulgence in sexual fantasies, co dependency, over all feeling of numbness or feeling stuck in life.

Root-Our chakra of survival, Feeling safe and secure, support, grounding, and creativity. An unbalanced chakra consists of excessive negativity, greed, and a massive sense of insecurity.

Focusing on the balance and health of each one of these energetic hotspots will eventually result in achieving the peaceful calm and balance we all achieve for in the everyday to-day. For when we find are calm we find our confidence. With our confidence we can achieve anything!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.